PDA

View Full Version : Two fake Guntings in one week



rycen
07-31-2010, 06:47 PM
One has already ended and the seller was nice enough to post that he was aware it might be a fake.still went for over a hundred.there is one currently on eBay now that is clearly a fake.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Spyderco-Gunting-/280541678819?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item4151964ce3#ht_500wt_920

SmoothOne25
07-31-2010, 07:02 PM
uses the word spyderco even though he isnt sure still

classy :D
60 dollars already!

rycen
07-31-2010, 07:09 PM
Sorry maybe I wasn't clear enough.He actualy did note in his auction he wasn't sure if it was A prototype or what it was.Someone informed him it could be a fake and he noted that as well.I am referring to the one that has ended.

Paramore
09-03-2010, 07:11 PM
wow ... i even put a bid in on this auction ... I will deff have to be more careful ! omg

rycen
05-25-2011, 11:41 PM
Yet another fake eBay #260790862043

Pinetreebbs
05-26-2011, 05:59 AM
Yet another fake eBay #260790862043

Good catch, I asked the seller a questions and told him it was a fake Spyderco.

rycen
06-18-2011, 07:44 PM
It's back

http://cgi.ebay.com/Spyderco-Gunting-folding-knife-Very-rare-Made-USA-/150621134381?pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item2311b81e2d#ht_1064wt_922

rycen
08-07-2011, 09:38 PM
And another

http://cgi.ebay.com/160634168096?ru=http%3A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.com%3A80%2F i.html%3F_from%3DR40%26_trksid%3Dp5197.m570.l1313% 26_nkw%3D160634168096%26_sacat%3DSee-All-Categories%26_fvi%3D1&_rdc=1#ht_500wt_922

Spyderbro
08-07-2011, 09:44 PM
One went for $112 & the other is at $208!! :eek:

jabba359
08-09-2011, 03:01 PM
One went for $112 & the other is at $208!! :eek:

Though the $208 one has no bids...and will probably remain that way. While I keep up on my Spyderco's, this fake is very convincing and I wouldn't have known if it hadn't been pointed out.

rycen
08-10-2011, 08:39 PM
Was 208 now 83.33

rycen
08-26-2011, 12:32 PM
And another

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewitem?itemId=120769150612&kw=120769150612

Claymore45
08-31-2011, 11:52 AM
I spotted 2 today with bids about $100 each. If you look close at the pics you can see the shabby manufacturing.

The Deacon
08-31-2011, 11:57 AM
Those both seem real. They both have compression locks, while all the fakes so far do not. However, one of the auctions is by Travis..... (aka Dr. FrankenSpyder) and any knife offered by him was almost certainly cobbled together from parts obtained by questionable means, so it really may not be much better than the fakes.