View Full Version : Spyderco knock off or fake?
Onionman
01-18-2011, 06:35 AM
Saw this on ebay the other day. Looks a lot like a spyderco rookie but is being sold under the "Navy" brand right from China. Not sure if this is considered an actual "fake" or if it's just a cheap legal knock off. I would imagine that the trademark spyderco hole would make it an illegal fake.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170584205607&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT
The Deacon
01-18-2011, 07:31 AM
Definitely not a Spyderco. Aside from the name, the other tip offs that it's not a Rookie are the size (it's too big) and the 50/50 choil, which the Rookie does not have. I'd call it a blend of a Police style blade and a Byrd G-10 Cara Cara style handle. As you noted, at the very least the round hole opener is a violation of Spyderco's trademark.
fast.ed
01-18-2011, 02:35 PM
Was wondering if its really 440C steel such as American manufactures use.
araneae
01-18-2011, 04:52 PM
Was wondering if its really 440C steel such as American manufactures use.
Its hard to take a company that deals in knock offs as reliable. Whether or not its real 440C, its highly derivative of Spyderco's products. The handle looks like a straight copy of the Cara Cara. The blade is a rip-off of the Police/Rookie. Is the 440C really 440C? Who knows?
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.