PDA

View Full Version : Fake Warrior



jabba359
02-11-2011, 04:32 PM
There's a couple auctions up for Warrior rip-offs. While the description and title don't mention Spyderco, you can see "Spyderco" clearly written on the knife in the pictures.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Sawtooth-Tactical-Survival-Hunting-Knife-Full-Tang-/150561112771?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item230e2442c3#ht_4151wt_1139
http://cgi.ebay.com/Sawtooth-Tactical-Survival-Hunting-Knife-Full-Tang-/160544059981?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item25612bf24d#ht_4151wt_1139

SmoothOne25
02-11-2011, 05:17 PM
says h1 on the blade and in the description it says 420j2

DMgangl
02-11-2011, 07:39 PM
I like how the description says the handle is Micarta. Its pretty pathetic though.

DM

2cha
02-12-2011, 06:14 AM
I really wish ebay would stop helping people to commit crimes.

The Deacon
02-12-2011, 07:26 AM
I really wish ebay would stop helping people to commit crimes.In fairness, short of shutting down, how could eBay possibly police this. The listings do not claim the knives are Spydercos and AFAIK, software sophisticated enough to read a word within a photo or determine that an object in a listing photograph looks "too much like" some other object only exist in the movies and on TV.

2cha
02-12-2011, 07:44 AM
In fairness, short of shutting down, how could eBay possibly police this. The listings do not claim the knives are Spydercos and AFAIK, software sophisticated enough to read a word within a photo or determine that an object in a listing photograph looks "too much like" some other object only exist in the movies and on TV.

Well, in this case anyway, the blade tang of the knife in the photograph says "Spyderco" on it, and as you and I both know, the knives aren't made by Spyderco. I don't know enough about other brands of knives to tell whether or not this particular seller's knives are counterfeits, but I'm willing to gamble that some are.

Ebay could police based on user input--I've reported fakes before and the same sellers continue to sell them. The seller in this case has over 700 transactions.

The Deacon
02-12-2011, 09:45 AM
Well, in this case anyway, the blade tang of the knife in the photograph says "Spyderco" on it, and as you and I both know, the knives aren't made by Spyderco. I don't know enough about other brands of knives to tell whether or not this particular seller's knives are counterfeits, but I'm willing to gamble that some are.

Ebay could police based on user input--I've reported fakes before and the same sellers continue to sell them. The seller in this case has over 700 transactions.Understood, but again there's no way for software to read writing in an image and expecting eBay to 1) have someone inspect every image and 2) know enough about the product to make an accurate determination as to its authenticity, is just not reasonable.

As for our reporting things, at one time eBay use to act on complaints by individual members. They had to stop because, at least in some areas like stamps and coins, sellers were reporting their competitors auctions even though the competitor's goods were legitimate.

That's one of the reasons for this place. By posting here we alert Spyderco so that they, as an Intellectual Property Rights Owner are entitled to complain to eBay about infringement, can do so.