View Full Version : I thinking fake
rycen
07-16-2011, 08:12 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/150633292957?ru=http%3A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.com%3A80%2F i.html%3F_from%3DR40%26_trksid%3Dp5197.m570.l1313% 26_nkw%3D150633292957%26_sacat%3DSee-All-Categories%26_fvi%3D1&_rdc=1#ht_500wt_922
Pics are bad but I don't see a place for LH carry
jabba359
07-16-2011, 08:18 PM
I would have to agree with you on this one, rycen. No cutouts for LH carry screams "Fake!" in my book as well. While most fakes are fairly easy to spot, the UKPK fakes are some of the "best" knockoffs I've seen as far as accuracy is concerned.
The Deacon
07-17-2011, 02:49 AM
+1. Assuming the knife being sold is the one in the photos, then it's definitely a fake. There are no cuts for LH carry, so the chances of it being real are zero.
Creepo
07-17-2011, 09:53 AM
Seems like the seller doesnt really have an idea if it's real or not, either he doesnt know or is playing dumb to get it out of his hands (highly possible considering the price). :rolleyes:
The Deacon
07-17-2011, 11:30 AM
Sent him a message on eBay, he replied, said he was going to pull the auction, and has.
rycen
07-18-2011, 06:42 PM
It's back up with bids
rycen
09-19-2011, 04:06 PM
here is another
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Spyderco-Uk-Pen-Knife-/200654849170?pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item2eb7f60492#ht_500wt_1282
araneae
09-19-2011, 04:37 PM
Certainly looks it.
razorsharp
09-21-2011, 02:24 AM
"out of collection so i dont have box" ---------BS
rycen
10-30-2011, 02:34 PM
Yet again
http://www.ebay.com/itm/170711641013?ru=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com%3A80%2Fs ch%2Fi.html%3F_from%3DR40%26_trksid%3Dp5197.m570.l 1313%26_nkw%3D170711641013%26_sacat%3DSee-All-Categories%26_fvi%3D1&_rdc=1#ht_500wt_922
jonsidneyb
11-01-2011, 05:02 PM
Shameful,
How to this people maintain positive feedback?
rycen
01-20-2012, 05:52 AM
Another one
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Spyderco-UK-PenKnife-Pen-Knife-CPM-S30V-G10-C94GP-EDC-/260938743261?pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item3cc1293ddd#ht_1225wt_1265
Donut
01-20-2012, 10:58 AM
Rycen, why do you think that one is a fake?
rycen
01-20-2012, 11:19 AM
It has the same "flaws" as the others I have listed. One big clue though easy to overlook at quick glance is no slots for LH carry.
rycen
01-20-2012, 11:23 AM
Another one
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Spyderco-UK-PenKnife-Pen-Knife-CPM-S30V-G10-C94GP-EDC-/260938743261?pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item3cc1293ddd#ht_1225wt_1265
I should add when I posted this it was active and newly listed.
MachSchnell
01-20-2012, 12:16 PM
Hmm... seeing how these fakes seem to be getting better and better---doesn't pointing out the dead giveaways on a public forum help the bad guys perfect their counterfeit goods(bads in this case ;)).
rycen
01-20-2012, 12:22 PM
If they got it that close I am sure they could have made it 100% if they cared to.My thread is here to warn potential buyers what to look out for.
MachSchnell
01-20-2012, 12:40 PM
Good looking out!
jtoler_9
01-20-2012, 01:50 PM
Hmm... seeing how these fakes seem to be getting better and better---doesn't pointing out the dead giveaways on a public forum help the bad guys perfect their counterfeit goods(bads in this case ;)).
I really don't think the bad guys need the forum to find out what they are doing wrong. I am sure they have the capability to counterfit a perfect replica if they really wanted to. The idea behind the fake is to create a cheaper produced product and try and pass it off as a more expensive item. If they fixed every flaw in the product, why not just build the real thing.
MachSchnell
01-20-2012, 02:44 PM
Well, in the case of this example, if the other side had clip cutouts it would be even harder to identify it as a fake. It obviously has people fooled. They even etched Sal's logo on the blade... jackass counterfeiters.
ChrisR
01-20-2012, 04:51 PM
Well, in the case of this example, if the other side had clip cutouts it would be even harder to identify it as a fake. It obviously has people fooled. They even etched Sal's logo on the blade... jackass counterfeiters.
There are other differences that are less easy to pick up in promo photos or adverts but they are there if you look hard enough. But generally speaking the fakers aren't dumb so there must have been a commercial reason why they didn't cut out slots on the other side. Also, knives are made in batches so it could be that they made 1000s of these fake UKPKs years ago and haven't bothered making any more since. It isn't really a very good knife to fake ... if they wanted a more commercial fake they could have done a Delica clone.
Well, in the case of this example, if the other side had clip cutouts it would be even harder to identify it as a fake. It obviously has people fooled. They even etched Sal's logo on the blade... jackass counterfeiters.
Yea, notice how the right end of the L in the fake touches the far right end of the A shape. It isn't supposed to. Adding Sal's logo makes it even worse.
Also there are no spaces in between the words Golden and Colorado and also between U.S.A. and Earth.
rycen
02-08-2012, 08:13 PM
here is another
http://www.ebay.com/itm/LOT-4-NEW-SPYDERCO-UK-PEN-KNIFE-MAROON-SER-C94SMR3-EJ-C94PSMR-IJ-SWEET-/150755293369?pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item2319b738b9#ht_1468wt_1265
DrChimRichalds
02-08-2012, 09:36 PM
here is another
http://www.ebay.com/itm/LOT-4-NEW-SPYDERCO-UK-PEN-KNIFE-MAROON-SER-C94SMR3-EJ-C94PSMR-IJ-SWEET-/150755293369?pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item2319b738b9#ht_1468wt_1265
I posted on your thread about this knock-off on blade forums too. Just exchanged a few messages with the seller...
First response after I messaged him claiming the black "Pen Knife" was a fake...a good fake nevertheless, but still fake:
THANKS FOR INFO, BUT THE BLACK ONE IS NOT FAKE! I TOOK THE BLACK SPYDERCO TO PLAZA CUTLERY IN ORANGE COUNTY, CALIFORNIA AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A AUTHENIC SPYDERCO PEN KNIFE. I CAN'T GO WRONG THERE, MY FRIEND. LATER GATOR!!
My response:
You're dead wrong. The black knife does not have the clip grooves on the other side of the scales for left-hand carry. Look up any other pen knife and you will find grooves for the pocket clip on each side. Each one of your Maroon pen knives has these grooves because they are authentic. The black one does not have these because it is not authentic. Furthermore, the fact it doesn't have a box or paperwork should reinforce the knife's lack of authenticity. I'd suggest modifying your information.
Seller's second retort:
YES, I NOW SEE THAT, YOU ARE RIGHT. THANKS FOR THE INFO, I WILL POST ON MY DISCRIPTION.
rycen
02-26-2012, 04:33 PM
And another
Item #110832532251
w3tnz
02-26-2012, 08:41 PM
GAH I was trauling the local aution site the other night, and came across this: "SPYDERCO HOLE KNIFE"
http://www.trademe.co.nz/sports/hunting-shooting/knives/pocket-knives/auction-451391015.htm
I didn't think much of it at first, but it instantly screamed fake, no model number, and is selling for about half the price of a ladybug goes for over here...
If anyone can confirm I will do further investigations and go about reporting them.
rycen
02-26-2012, 11:32 PM
That is also a fake
ChrisR
02-27-2012, 05:34 AM
http://www.trademe.co.nz/sports/hunting-shooting/knives/pocket-knives/auction-451391015.htm
It's the standard, and very poor-quality, fake UKPK - as someone has said in the comments. The seller seems to think that if he says it is made by a factory that once did OEM work for Spyderco then that gives him the rights to sell a blatant fake ... he needs educating on the law. I was going to reply in his thread (he has other fakes too) but I don't want to register on the site.
If anyone here is a member please report it as a fake and point the seller to this forum if he is really interested in not selling fakes.
w3tnz
02-27-2012, 10:09 PM
Yeah I initially asked him for the model number, he has now uploaded close up photos showing the horrid quality, and is now claiming CPMS30V is the model number! I think he is just really ignorant but I have reported the listing for breach of copyright / fake goods.
razorsharp
02-27-2012, 11:41 PM
I reported that to the trademe team 4 days ago, no reply :/. He has also blatantly lied to me too (jellabie)
jezabel
02-28-2012, 03:02 AM
I reported that to the trademe team 4 days ago, no reply :/. He has also blatantly lied to me too (jellabie)
Keep it up!
I've religiously reported the fakes on TM, about 50% of time the listing gets removed. Not so long ago there was one idiot peddling fake BM42's and Microtech's, once TM was informed that auto's were actually illegal in NZ, the listings were quickly removed.... occasionally they even email you back and thank you!
J
razorsharp
02-28-2012, 10:26 PM
http://www.trademe.co.nz/sports/hunting-shooting/knives/pocket-knives/auction-452764241.htm
MORE on trademe, trademe is usually very clean. same seller too
KardinalSyn
02-29-2012, 12:01 AM
http://www.trademe.co.nz/sports/hunting-shooting/knives/pocket-knives/auction-452764241.htm
MORE on trademe, trademe is usually very clean. same seller too
Spyderman, really!!
Sithus1966
03-03-2012, 07:33 AM
Same pictures on a ebay listing with the name washed out with photoshop.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-No-brand-G10-Handle-Pocket-Folding-Knife-B59-/130655756397?pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item1e6bb0a06d#ht_3134wt_1344
GAH I was trauling the local aution site the other night, and came across this: "SPYDERCO HOLE KNIFE"
http://www.trademe.co.nz/sports/hunting-shooting/knives/pocket-knives/auction-451391015.htm
I didn't think much of it at first, but it instantly screamed fake, no model number, and is selling for about half the price of a ladybug goes for over here...
If anyone can confirm I will do further investigations and go about reporting them.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.