PDA

View Full Version : Ebay is full of counterfeit etched Spins.



224477
09-13-2011, 09:40 AM
Item nr. 280735132474 might be possible fake, lousy pics and the knife is missing details in the etching. Pay attention with this one! :eek:

224477
09-13-2011, 09:43 AM
Item number: 320757743973

Definitely fake. Look at the blade writting.

224477
09-13-2011, 09:45 AM
another fake gang here:

Item number: 170695425933
Item number: 140603639956 and 170695418476

Makes me sad to see almost every Spin is fake today. :( Happened to be the most counterfeited model for the moment.

224477
09-13-2011, 09:56 AM
Mr. 'skullyscure' from SC, Greenville seems to be specialised in selling Spyderco Spins with etching.

http://www.ebay.com/sch/skullyscure/m.html?_trksid=p4340.l2562

shotcaller88
11-28-2011, 06:09 PM
Holy Crap. They all look the same to me. I bought this one a few months ago. Is it fake? 260830173372

Also, any thoughts on this dragonfly I just picked up? I don't see any records of spyderco selling one with a web design. I've seen crickets with the same design as well.
http://ihoos.net/misc/dragonfly.jpg

Minibear453
11-28-2011, 06:12 PM
There's no bug by the hole.. I think you're out of luck. Hope I'm wrong though. :(

Echo63
11-28-2011, 06:40 PM
There's no bug by the hole.. I think you're out of luck. Hope I'm wrong though. :(

The dont all have bugs by the hole - thats only really started in the past few years
My dragonfly (bought maybe 5 years ago) doesnt have a bug near the hole

rycen
11-28-2011, 07:27 PM
That dragonfly is totally legit.

The CoPilot
11-28-2011, 09:46 PM
That dragonfly is totally legit.

Agreed. This is a legitimate early Dragonfly. The web decoration was a special decoration done by the Spyderco factory also.

Minibear453
11-28-2011, 09:53 PM
Haha, I take it back. :p

The Deacon
11-29-2011, 04:45 AM
Mr. 'skullyscure' from SC, Greenville seems to be specialised in selling Spyderco Spins with etching.Hmm, I may have to get downright un-neighborly. :mad:

Slash
11-29-2011, 05:30 AM
Common sense. If you don't know what you're buying. Then don't buy it.
Btw, not even knowing that knife or what a dragonfly looked like. I would say the stamp and the overall design looks legit.

Blerv
11-29-2011, 10:14 PM
eBay is full of legit sellers. The fakes generally reek of it. These days you can usually Google the knife and dig around for quick research. The fake Spin's are the best I've seen lately but buying from trustworthy sellers is key.

I've seen people bidding up "rare" knives that are one-off frauds. If you pay $120 for a neon green wharncliffe Q personally made by Eric Glesser there better be a HUGE pic of some documentation :p.

rycen
11-30-2011, 06:24 AM
eBay is full of legit sellers. The fakes generally reek of it. These days you can usually Google the knife and dig around for quick research. The fake Spin's are the best I've seen lately but buying from trustworthy sellers is key.

I've seen people bidding up "rare" knives that are one-off frauds. If you pay $120 for a neon green wharncliffe Q personally made by Eric Glesser there better be a HUGE pic of some documentation :p.

Are you talking about this?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SPYDERCO-Q-GREEN-CUSTOM-WHARNCLIFFE-BLADE-ERIC-GLESSER-RARE-/230704608460?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35b710f4cc#ht_500wt_1048

If so it is real.

The Deacon
11-30-2011, 07:48 AM
Are you talking about this?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SPYDERCO-Q-GREEN-CUSTOM-WHARNCLIFFE-BLADE-ERIC-GLESSER-RARE-/230704608460?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35b710f4cc#ht_500wt_1048

If so it is real.Yep, it's real, although the description might be a bit over the top. I don't think they were reground from SE blades. In fact I can't recall ever seeing a solid rescue blade in anything other than PE (which is not to say they don't exist). They were made in four colors - black, grey, blue, and green and, from what I understand, some of them were 4 color sets used by Spyderco salespersons...


http://www.paulberetta.com/C35%20Gallery/images/c35_spy_set_rescue.jpg

...and here's a grey one that Eric modified into a semi-wharncliffe which I purchased directly from him on eBay...


http://www.paulberetta.com/C35%20Gallery/images/c35_e_glesser_mod.jpg

Slash
11-30-2011, 09:00 AM
Real or not. 225 for that knife is out if control. Some fan boys are nuts.

Blerv
11-30-2011, 10:27 AM
Are you talking about this?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SPYDERCO-Q-GREEN-CUSTOM-WHARNCLIFFE-BLADE-ERIC-GLESSER-RARE-/230704608460?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35b710f4cc#ht_500wt_1048

If so it is real.

I be danged :). Thanks, lol.

To sound like slightly less of a goon I do think the product description was over the top. It sounded a bit like it came out of Eric Glesser's personal Batcave.

The Deacon
12-01-2011, 03:28 AM
Real or not. 225 for that knife is out if control. Some fan boys are nuts.Hmm, now the definition of "fan boy" is being stretched to include collectors, three of whom obviously disagree with you regarding the knife's worth. :rolleyes:


I be danged :). Thanks, lol.

To sound like slightly less of a goon I do think the product description was over the top. It sounded a bit like it came out of Eric Glesser's personal Batcave.Personal Batcave, no, personal stash, quite possibly. I know for a fact that Eric sold off a bunch of interesting Qs a few years back, including a few 5 piece color sets like this (http://www.paulberetta.com/C35%20Gallery/images/c35_spy_set_colors.jpg) and 4 piece color rescue sets like the one I posted above. The only part of the auction ad copy I seriously question is the part about it being reground from a SE blade.

Slash
12-01-2011, 12:00 PM
You're absolutely right. When I consider a knifes worth, value weighs much more heavily than desire to me.
Anyone that would spend over $200 for a small 440a blade and frn handles must want it pretty bad.
Also, if you collect spyderco knives I think that the "fan boy" category is appropriate. Just some are more extreme than others.

224477
12-15-2011, 01:33 AM
another counterfeit, beware

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NM-VINTAGE-SPYDERCO-VG-10-SEKI-CITY-JAPAN-LOCKBACK-KNIFE-KNIVES-POCKET-CLIP-JACK-/320810317358?pt=Collectible_Knives&hash=item4ab1c8f62e#ht_6032wt_901

Sithus1966
12-15-2011, 08:55 PM
So whats the biggest giveaway that these are fake Spin's? Other than say the box and comparing it to mine the clip maybe and the clip screws are too far apart? The clip screws on my Spin are real close together. Other thing I notice is the area behind the sharpening notch is rounded, and on my Spin it's sharp and square.

I agree a page showing the fakes compared to the real deal along with points showing how a fake differs from a real Spyderco. Another page to point people that use the " I don't know it's not a fake no matter what people tell me" excuse.

KardinalSyn
12-15-2011, 09:13 PM
MIB SPYDERCO MANIX LOCKBACK FOLDING HUNTER BOWIE KNIFE KNIVES POCKET CLASP JACK

The above looks like a sprint run with a number 152 being sold on eBay. Seller has posted photos as well. The current price is about USD153. Is this legit?

Slash
12-16-2011, 01:39 AM
MIB SPYDERCO MANIX LOCKBACK FOLDING HUNTER BOWIE KNIFE KNIVES POCKET CLASP JACK

The above looks like a sprint run with a number 152 being sold on eBay. Seller has posted photos as well. The current price is about USD153. Is this legit?

I'm no manic expert. But, all indications show it to be real.

224477
12-16-2011, 02:44 AM
So whats the biggest giveaway that these are fake Spin's? Other than say the box and comparing it to mine the clip maybe and the clip screws are too far apart? The clip screws on my Spin are real close together. Other thing I notice is the area behind the sharpening notch is rounded, and on my Spin it's sharp and square.

I agree a page showing the fakes compared to the real deal along with points showing how a fake differs from a real Spyderco. Another page to point people that use the " I don't know it's not a fake no matter what people tell me" excuse.

The fake ones simply aint made the same precise way. The inside of the screws is not propers torx, but looks more like a torn-off torx or hex. Common for multiple little cosmetic flaws. The signs on blade are more soapy soaked and. To me missing precision would a first trade off.

The Deacon
12-16-2011, 03:41 AM
I'm no manic expert. But, all indications show it to be real.Looks like a genuine Collectors Club numbered C101 83mm Manix to me as well. Part serrated, so not as much in demand as the plain edged version, but no reason to think it's not genuine.

KardinalSyn
12-16-2011, 03:57 AM
Thanks guys. It's outa my budget now. I could risk ordering on eBay if the price is around fifty USD but I guess this is worth much more.